IUN: 663246M77Γ-OKO





HELLENIC REPUBLIC MINISTRY OF DEVELOPMENT AND INVESTMENTS GENERAL SECRETARIAT FOR RESEARCH AND INNOVATION HELLENIC FOUNDATION FOR RESEARCH AND INNOVATION

Address: 185 Syggrou Ave. & 2 Sardeon St., 171 21 N.

Smyrni Website: www.elidek.gr Phone: +30 210 6412410, 420

Email: info@elidek.gr, researchdepartment@elidek.gr

Date: 24.01.2022 Ref. No.: 43275

"Call for expression of interest to participate in the Register of Certified Evaluators-Experts of the Hellenic Foundation for Research and Innovation (H.F.R.I.)" (1st Amendment)

The Hellenic Foundation for Research and Innovation, established under Law 4429/2016, holds the mission of promoting research and innovation through funding research projects and research equipment and awarding scholarships in the following Scientific Areas: SA1. Physical Sciences, SA2. Engineering Sciences and Technology, SA3. Life Sciences (Medicine and Health Sciences), SA4. Agricultural Sciences – Food Science and Technology, SA5. Mathematics and Information Sciences, SA6. Social Sciences, SA7. Humanities and Arts, SA8. Environment and Energy, SA9. Management and Economics of Innovation.

Pursuant to article 5 of Law 4429/2016 (as amended and in force), the evaluation of candidate beneficiary proposals is carried out by a committee of evaluators, which may be assisted in its work by one or more independent experts. Then, any objections of candidate beneficiaries against the evaluation decision are submitted before a three-member objection committee.

In line with article 5 par. 11a and 11b of Law 4429/2016, in order to evaluate proposals, examine objections and certify funded actions, a Register of Certified Evaluators-Experts of the Hellenic Foundation for Research and Innovation is being established, consisting of acclaimed scientists. Independent experts, members of the experts and objection committees and certifiers of the physical and financial scope of funded projects shall be drawn from this register. The determination of formal and substantial qualifications as well as the certification of Register members is performed by a five-member committee, consisting of three members from the Advisory Committee and two members from the Scientific Council of the Foundation.

According to article 24 of Law 4310/2014 (as amended by article 224 of Law 4782/2021), the members registered in the aforementioned Register shall not be obliged to declare assets, only from their participation in evaluation procedures or certification of actions, proposals or calls issued by H.F.R.I.

Having regard to the above and the decisions under Ref. No. 14387/25.06.2019, 34803/22.03.2021 and 43004/13.01.2022 issued by the aforementioned Register Committee of H.F.R.I., we invite you to submit an expression of interest to participate in the Register of Certified Evaluators-Experts of the Hellenic Foundation for Research and Innovation (H.F.R.I.) as follows:

A. Experts as members of evaluation and objection committees, Independent evaluation experts, Certifiers of the Physical Scope may be:

- Faculty members (Professors, Associate Professors, Permanent Assistant Professors, Term Assistant Professors and Lecturers) of Higher Educational Institutions in Greece or abroad, Professors Emeriti and retired Professors.
- Researchers (Grades A, B, C) of research centers/institutes in Greece or abroad.
- Scientists holding qualifications of Professors or Researchers of all grades or corresponding experience in R&D departments of any institution in Greece or abroad or teaching experience (Special Educational Staff, Lab Teaching Staff, Teaching Staff by virtue of Presidential Decree 407/80).

The necessary qualifications for the certification of the above candidates are the following:

- 1. Holding a PhD.
- 2. Having experience in authoring and implementing research projects.

Any previous experience in the evaluation procedures of research proposals and/or certification of research projects is taken into account. Any authoring work (publications in scientific journals, announcements at conferences, monographs), teaching experience and distinctions are also taken into account.

• Internationally renowned artists, prominent people from the arts and culture as well as business executives.

The condition of holding a PhD is not required in the case of a subject module for which it is not possible or usual to defend a thesis 'de lege artis'. In this case, a condition for the certification is a diploma from a recognized art school and one year of teaching experience and/or participation in a research project related to the artistic capacity. Alternatively, any recognized work with awards in national and international competitions, any participation in national and international exhibitions, events and generally any national and international recognition of the work is required.

Especially for business executives, a degree and/or postgraduate diploma and experience in establishing and managing innovative private or public companies are required. Experience in the training of business executives, in the evaluation of innovative ventures, in the participation in business forums and in management bodies of innovative companies is taken into account.

B. Certifiers of the Financial Scope may be:

Graduates of Higher Educational Institutions in Greece or abroad, and graduates of former Technological Educational Institutions or holders of equivalent degrees, and proven experience of at least three years in financial competency positions of the public or private sector.

The certification of candidate Evaluators-Experts (physical and financial scope) is carried out by the aforementioned Committee on a periodic basis.

Certified Evaluators-Experts are able to update their information.

Expressions of interest are submitted <u>exclusively</u> through the

H.F.R.I. Web Portal

https://hfri.grnet.gr/

Submission start-date: March 26th, 2021, 12:00 (Greece time)

The Chair of the Scientific Council and acting Director of H.F.R.I.

Professor Xenia Chryssochoou

<u>Internal Circulation</u>: Chair and Members of the Register

Committee Chair and Members of the Scientific

Council Department of Research Projects