<u>Decision No 75065/2018 Establishment and appointment of Advisory Committee</u> members of H.F.R.I (Series of Special Position Employees and Employees in Administration Bodies of the Public Sector and Broader Public Sector Agencies, 300).

No 75065

Establishment and appointment of Advisory Committee members of the Hellenic Foundation for Research and Innovation (H.F.R.I.)

THE ALTERNATE MINISTER OF EDUCATION, RESEARCH AND RELIGIOUS AFFAIRS

Having regard to:

- 1. Law 4429/2016 (Government Gazette, Series I, 199), 'Hellenic Foundation for Research and Innovation and other provisions', as in force, and Article 8(11) thereof in particular;
- 2. Presidential Decree 63/2005 (Gov. Gazette, Series I, 98) 'Codification of Legislation for the Government and Government Bodies' and, in particular, Article 90 'Control of expenditures resulting from regulatory administrative acts';
- 3. Presidential Decree 18/2018 (Gov. Gazette, Series I, 181) 'Organization of the Ministry of Education, Research and Religious Affairs';
- 4. Presidential Decree 70/2015 (Gov. Gazette, Series I, 114) 'Re-establishment of the Ministries of Culture & Sport, Infrastructure, Transport and Networks, Rural Development and Food; Reestablishment of the Ministry of Shipping and the Aegean and renaming thereof into the Ministry of Shipping and Island Policy. Renaming of the Ministry of Culture, Education and Religious Affairs into the Ministry of Education, Research and Religious Affairs, of the Ministry of Economy, Infrastructure, Shipping and Tourism into the Ministry of Economy, Development and Tourism and of the Ministry of Productive Reconstruction, Environment and Energy into the Ministry of Environment and Energy; Transfer of the General Secretariat for Industry to the Ministry of Economy, Development and Tourism';
- 5. Presidential Decree 73/2015 (Gov. Gazette, Series I, 116) 'Appointment of a Deputy Prime Minister, Ministers, Alternate Ministers and Deputy Ministers';
- 6. Prime Ministerial Decision No Y2/22.9.2015 (Gov. Gazette, Series II, 2076) 'Establishment of posts of Ministers and Alternate Ministers';
- 7. Prime Ministerial Decision No Y8/25.9.2015 (Gov. Gazette, Series II, 2109) 'Assignment of powers to Alternate Minister of Education, Research and Religious Affairs Konstantinos Fotakis';

- 8. Ministerial Decision 288/3.4.2017 (Series of Special Position Employees and Employees in Administration Bodies of the Public Sector and Broader Public Sector Agencies, 173) on 'Establishment of the Scientific Council of the Hellenic Foundation for Research and Innovation', as amended and in force;
- 9. The minutes of the 7th session of the ESEK Plenary held on 03/11/2017;
- 10. Decision 1090/23.3.2018 of the Scientific Council of the H.F.R.I. on 'Selection of members of the Advisory Committee of the H.F.R.I.';
- 11. The fact that the implementation of this decision does not cause expenditure burdening on the state budget,

we decide:

- A. To establish the Advisory Committee of the H.F.R.I., which must be independent of other Foundation bodies.
- B. To appoint the following individuals as its members:
- 1. Athina Athanasiou, daughter of Anastasios, Identity Card No AK 643370, Associate Professor at the Department of Social Anthropology at Panteion University and Head of the Department, member of the National Council for Research and Innovation;
- 2. Ioannis Vontas, son of Gerasimos, Identity Card No Al 657216, Professor of Pesticide Science at the Agricultural University of Athens, member of the Sectoral Scientific Council on Bio-Medical Sciences;
- 3. Vasileios Gounaris, son of Konstantinos, Identity Card No AE 186566, Professor at the School of History and Archaeology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Vice-Chairman of the Sectoral Scientific Council on Arts & Humanities;
- 4. Othon Iliopoulos, son of Stavros, Passport No AK5240881, Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, USA, member of the National Council for Research and Innovation;
- 5. Dimitrios Lagoudas, son of Christos, Passport No 531025335, John and Bea Slattery Chair of Aerospace Engineering Director, Texas Institute for Intelligent Materials and Structures;
- 6. Theodoros Papazoglou, son of Gavriil, Identity Card No AM 606901, Head of Policy Unit at the European Research Council (ERC);
- 7. Michail Spourdalakis, son of Georgios, Identity Card No AM 557119, Professor of Political Sociology, Dean of the School of Economics and Political Science, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, member of the Sectoral Scientific Council on Social Sciences;

- 8. Athanasios Stoumbos, son of Konstantinos, Identity Card No AK 220205, Director of the Institute of Nuclear & Radiological Sciences and Technology, Energy & Safety, NCSR 'Demokritos', Vice-Chairman of the Sectoral Scientific Council on Energy;
- 9. Nektarios Tavernarakis, son of Nikolaos, Identity Card No AK 470784), Chairman of the Board of Directors and Director of Central Administration, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH), Professor at the School of Medicine of the University of Crete, Chairman of the Sectoral Scientific Council on Bio-Medical Sciences;
- 10. Dimitrios Charalambidis, son of Nikolaos, Identity Card No AB 962881, Professor at the Department of Physics of the University of Crete and Affiliated Member of the said University's Teaching & Research staff, of the Institute of Electronic Structure & Laser, of the Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Chairman of the Sectoral Scientific Council on Physical Sciences;
- 11. Nikolaos Chatzichristidis, son of Christos, Identity Card No AB 340767, Professor at the Chemical Science Program, Physical Sciences and Engineering Division, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Chairman of the National Council for Research and Innovation.
- B. The following three (3) members of the Advisory Committee may attend meetings of the Scientific Council of the Foundation:
- i. Athina Athanasiou, daughter of Anastasios, Identity Card No AK 643370, Associate Professor at the Department of Social Anthropology at Panteion University and Head of the Department, member of the National Council for Research and Innovation;
- ii. Othon Iliopoulos, son of Stavros, Passport No AK5240881, Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, USA, member of the National Council for Research and Innovation;
- iii. Nikolaos Chatzichristidis, son of Christos, Identity Card No AB 340767, Professor at the Chemical Science Program, Physical Sciences and Engineering Division, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Chairman of the National Council for Research and Innovation.

C. Advisory Committee members shall serve a four-year term of office.

This decision shall be published in the Government Gazette.

Athens, 10 May 2018

The Alternate Minister

KONSTANTINOS FOTAKIS